The Story Behind the Picture – Helena, AL

44370_747287897085_7414810_n

I was fortunate enough to grow up in the great state of Alabama. Now some of you may be shaking your head wondering how I could call Alabama a ‘great state.’ Well, you wouldn’t understand unless you’ve lived there. While ‘Bama gets a bad rap due to its history, primarily during the Civil Rights Movement, there are still some great things about the state: the people are friendly, the food is good, it’s not densely populated, most people have a yard, many people don’t lock their doors and everyone asks about your family. These are all positives for me.

I was in Alabama in 2010 for LJ’s wedding celebration and by this time I had made the best purchase of my life: my camera. I wanted to capture some of what felt like home. Well, for year’s I had passed by the sign for the Cherokee Campground and never thought anything of it, but this particular visit it really struck me that Jesus and a Native American were on the same sign. While Alabama has all those good qualities I listed, it still has quite a few quirks that make it truly ‘Bama!

Leave a Reply

