The Story Behind the Picture – New Orleans, LA

5855_638785616525_5790893_n

 

Mardi Gras 1999. This was my senior year in high school – I can’t for the life of me remember how I managed to get away with going to Mardi Gras without my parents! I have very few pictures from this trip and none of the actual parades themselves. This is probably one of the most candid photos but also one of the only ones that captures the essence of the parades. People line up along the streets to catch beads. People are serious about getting their beads and some even stand on ladders (like the one behind me in the picture). It’s almost impossible to not get any beads at a parade but there is definitely competition!

Mardi Gras is definitely something I’d love to experience again. If you’d like to go, follow the link for more info!

Leave a Reply

