The Story Behind the Picture – Kissing the Blarney Stone

 

 

 

 

5855_638139411525_280185_n

This is an older picture of me, taken with a disposable camera in 2000. I was 19 years old and was visiting Ireland with my family. My middle brother, Billy, had Duchennes Muscular Dystrophy and was granted a “Wish” from the Make a Wish Foundation. They sent my family to England, where we visited our grandparents, aunts, uncles and cousins (my dad is from London). Since our trip to England was already paid for, my parents decided to take us to Southern Ireland, where both of my grandparents are originally from, where my dad used to spend his summers as a kid, and where our family name, Moriarty, can be traced back for hundreds of years. This all brings me to the location of this photo: The Blarney Stone.

Blarney Castle is in Cork, Ireland, at the southern end of the island. It’s an older castle which is pretty much in ruins save for the stairway to the roof. Once  you are at the top, you have the option to lay on your back, dangle your head over the side of a cliff, hold onto some rails, trust your life in the hands of an old man, and kiss the side of the castle, which is made out of stone. Once you do, you will be given ‘the gift of the gab.’ Both my brother and I braved the Blarney Stone and have these old photos to prove it! In the photo below you can see  the actual gap between the rock wall and the floor, with my brother dangling over it! Quite a drop!

5855_638139436475_6536192_n

 

One thought on “The Story Behind the Picture – Kissing the Blarney Stone

  1. Pingback: Blarney Castle in County Cork, Ireland | The Journey of My Feet

Leave a Reply

