The Story Behind the Picture – Turner Falls, Oklahoma

2302_581668150385_8004_n

 

The more I write, the more I realize that I have been to some really random places… which brings me to this photo in Davis, Oklahoma.  I was living in Dallas in 2009 and my roommate and I decided we wanted to go hiking and see some fall foliage. Since Dallas only has 2 seasons, summer and winter (and winter really only lasts a month or two), we had to drive north to Oklahoma to see the leaves change. We took my dog, hopped in the car, and drove the couple of miles north to Turner Falls. We hiked around during the day, saw the falls, the random house/castle (you’ll have to read about it on the Turner Falls web site) and generally enjoyed the day. Being that I was not a native of Dallas, or anywhere west of the Mississippi, I was completely intrigued by the idea of seeing Native American memorabilia. This picture is of me and Lady in front of a very touristy teepee. It made my day to see this incredibly fake NA tent!

One thought on “The Story Behind the Picture – Turner Falls, Oklahoma

  1. Pingback: The Story Behind the Picture – Davis, Oklahoma | The Journey of My Feet

Leave a Reply

