Nofukuji Temple – A Big Buddha in the Heart of Kobe

I was lucky enough to find this post while searching temples in Kobe which lead me right to the great Buddha at the Nofukuji Temple.

I wasn’t able to find very much information on him outside of this web site – I know that there are Japanese web sites that provide information, but since I don’t speak Japanese….

The Buddha is 36 feet high and sits atop a platform towering over the surround buildings and temple. It’s not hard to find, but not entirely easy to get to either. (Address: 1−39 Kitasakasegawacho,  KobeHyogo Ward, Hyogo Prefecture 652-0837, Japan, 078-652-1715). Its a bit of a walk from the JR Hyogo train station but it is well worth it.

During my first visit I was lucky enough to be just in time for an NHK performance. I had no idea what was going on, but it was nice to watch the acting and singing, and I got a general idea of what the story line was.

I was lucky enough to meet the girl performing afterwards and she spoke pretty good English!

Since my initial discovery I’ve suggested the Nofukuji Temple to other people as well as took my mom when she came to visit. Its worth a visit, and its free!

2 thoughts on “Nofukuji Temple – A Big Buddha in the Heart of Kobe

  1. This is the temple where we were going to go that one day, but went to the temple in Himeji instead, right? It’s funny how I never got to go there. Hyogo station was the only stop between Okubo and Kobe that I never got off of.

Leave a Reply

